“they’re all delicious!”

December 18, 2013

DSCN3212Ray Lamar opened his first Lamar’s Donuts in Kansas City, Missouri, in 1960. In 1993, Ray and his wife began franchising the business. Nancy Robertson’s Lamar’s Donuts in Oxford is now going into their 12th year serving Calhoun County. Nancy says “I’d always known and believed I’d have my own business, and I always had an interest in baking. While living in Atlanta, I looked at bakeries for sale, but nothing ever worked out. I grew up here and came to visit a friend. She brought me to the donut shop, and I immediately thought ‘This is what I want to do.’ I came back several times to visit, and then, on Saturday morning my friend called to say she thought the business might be closing. There had been changes, and by Monday night, I bought a donut shop.” When talking to Nancy her passion for her business is contagious. “I love my business, and I’m thankful all the others didn’t work out,” says Nancy. When you ask which donut is her favorite, her recommendation is priceless, “Whatever I’m eating at the time because they’re all delicious. The Regular Glazed is the most popular, but according to Nancy, the daily specialties, like that of the Red Velvet, all have their fans.DSCN3224 One is not more popular that the other, and Nancy says, “If our customers don’t like it, we change it.” With Nancy’s passion, “it’s fun, as a donut shop should be. We can do anything as far as donuts or pastries are concerned. We do lattes, cappuccinos, and espresso drinks. We serve up holiday specialties, especially around Christmas and Valentines, with specialty cakes, cakes in holiday shapes, and decorating with the holiday spirit.” Most of all, Nancy says, “we appreciate our great customer base, with new people coming every day. That is small business. They know our product, and we give the best we can. It keeps them coming back.” Heads up Calhoun County! Nancy is looking at expanding! “Come buy donuts!”
1781 Hamric Drive East
Oxford, AL 36203
Phone: (256) 832-4353
Hours:
5:30am – 6:00pm Mon-Fri
6:00am – 6:00pm Sat
7:00am – 3:00pm Sun

Leave a Reply

